Tax treaties are formal bilateral agreements between two jurisdictions. Australia has tax agreements with more than 40 jurisdictions. Here you can find information on international tax treaties for Australian residents and non-residents. We have included general information on tax treaties, other international tax agreements and bilateral supernuation agreements. In addition, Vanuatu is a beneficiary country under three major trade agreements: SPARTECA; ACP-CE/Lomé IV convention; and the GSP. Vanuatu reached an agreement with the United Kingdom in December 2003 on the promotion and protection of their foreign investment. Other investment promotion and protection agreements are being developed with the United States, the People`s Republic of China, Japan, France, Australia, New Zealand and New Caledonia. … very successful, especially in the last year and a half. Last year, particularly since the G20 focused entirely on transparency and the exchange of tax information, more than 400 of these tax information exchange agreements have been signed worldwide. I think we signed 25. In the first five years of our efforts to sign these agreements, we probably signed four or five. In the last 18 months, we may have signed 19.

[3] Australia, New Zealand and eight Pacific Island States have signed the agreement on closer economic relations, a free trade agreement on goods, services and investment. Read the full history Article 6 of the agreement provides that contracting parties can communicate without prior request for information they are aware of. [16] The agreements are in force with 23 donor countries, including Australia, Austria, Bulgaria, Canada, Czechoslovakia, Finland, Hungary, Japan, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Switzerland, the United States of America, the USSR and the European Community (EC), which includes Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Spain and the United Kingdom. The European Community (EC) applies the Lomé programme, while Australia and New Zealand apply sparteca to South Pacific island countries, members of the South Pacific Forum.