(2) Any power of a First Nation named in Schedule II, including the power to pass legislation, may be delegated by a First Nation statute to another nation, another entity or person, as long as the delegation is in accordance with the Constitution and the First Nation Autonomy Agreement. Many of Yukon`s communities were extremely underdeveloped. Poor health, low incomes, poor housing quality and unemployment are just some of the factors that have contributed to the poor condition of these communities. [6] Smith suggests that with the colony, many municipalities will be able to create local governments. They could revive development and make better progress. Kwanlin Don First Nation is an autonomous people with the main municipality and administrative headquarters in Whitehorse. The First Nation has approximately 1,130 members, most of whom live in the Whitehorse area, with the balance distributed in Canada, the United States of America (mainly Alaska) and abroad. About 75 per cent of the territory`s population live in the traditional territory of the Kwanlin Don First Nation. The Kwanlin Don have cultural ties to the northern and southern Tutchone, as well as the Tagish people of Lake De Marsh. The final and self-management agreements of Kwanlin Don First Nation came into force on 1 April 2005. The final agreement includes 1,043 km2 of residential land, including 647 km2, the Category A subdivision with surface and base rights and 388 km2 of the Category B settlement country, which covers only surface rights.

The remaining 7 km2 is Fee Simple Settlement Land. Unlike other parts of Canada, Yukon First Nations did not enter into contracts until the 1990s. Chief Jim Boss of Ta`an Kwach`an had asked the Canadian government to compensate for lost land and hunting areas following the Klondike Goldrausches in 1902. Boss`s letter was ignored by the federal government. It was not until the 1970s that the subject was re-raised. [1] Negotiations resumed in the late 1980s and culminated in 1990 with the Umbrella Final Agreement (UFA). The UFA serves as a framework or presentation of individual agreements with each of yukon`s 14 federally recognized First Nations. It was signed in 1993 and the four First Nations ratified their focal claim agreements in 1995. To date (January 2016), eleven of the 14 First Nations have signed and ratified an agreement. Currently, white River First Nation, Liard First Nation and Ross River Dena Council are not negotiating.

They remain Indian groups under the Federal Indian Act. [2] These agreements outline the rights of First Nations in their traditional territories. “I think we need to take care of it. I think we need to look at the fact that very few architects, including today`s leaders and negotiators, have to speak with the spirit and intent of the agreements, because I think no one knows better than them what spirit and intent is. That`s what we have to do.┬áThe Department of Justice is responsible for supporting the dual role of the Minister of Justice and the Attorney General of Canada. The ministry assists the Minister of Justice in his duties in 49 statutes and areas of federal law by ensuring a bilingual and two-coloured legal framework in the following areas: criminal justice (including juvenile justice); Family equity Access to justice Aboriginal justice; public and private international law. The department also supports the Attorney General as Chief of Crown Justice, both in terms of day-to-day government operations and the development of new strategies, programs and services for Canadians to support government priorities. In particular, the department provides legal advice to all federal authorities and agencies, represents the Crown in civil and administrative trials, develops legislation and responds to other legal needs of federal departments and authorities.